Recipe: Quinoa Stuffing

Every once in a while I make a great dish up on the spot.  Often I never write down what I did and I completely forget and that bit of brilliance is lost forever.  Yesterday was such a day, I made a completely personal recipe without referring to anything and I don’t want to lose it.  So I’m going to write about it.  That way you can share in this amazing recipe and I will also have a record of it in the future when I might need it!

My dilemma started when we decided to prepare a turkey for Thanksgiving Day.  Now that is pretty normal for most people in the USA, but living in South Africa for nearly 30 years we haven’t really kept up the Thanksgiving tradition. Just as I was going to pop the bird into the oven (after carefully reading the baking directions) I decided I should stuff it with something so it would add to the flavour. The challenge is that my daughters and I are both not eating bread (or sugar), so I quickly chopped a couple of onions, a Granny Smith apple, celery sticks, dates, added raisins, herbs and spices, mixed and shoved some inside the turkey.  I had overestimated the size of the bird’s cavern and ended up with quite a lot of chopped stuff left over.

You must realize that Thanksgiving Meals are mostly a distant memory for me, so I don’t have a lot of experience with exactly what procedures are supposed to be followed.  I did remember that often my mom would have a separate dish of stuffing, so I decided to go that route.  Here is my amazing concoction:

chopped onion, chopped celery, chopped Granny Smith apple, chopped dates, 1/4 Cup or so raisins, 1/2 Cup or so cashews chopped in half, 1/2 Tablespoon coconut oil, 1/2 Cup quinoa, 1 and 1/4 Cup boiling water, herbs & spices, salt & pepper

I didn’t really measure too much, so the measurements are approximations.  I knew that you need 2x as much water for the amount of Quinoa.  I mixed it all together, put it in a ceramic baking dish with a top on and baked next to the turkey for about an hour.  Delicious!  Must be the HEALTHIEST and the MOST DELICIOUS stuffing I’ve ever eaten!

Our meal was very simple and shared with just my husband, myself and our two remaining children at home.  We accompanied the turkey and stuffing with baked sweet potatoes and green bean, stir-fried with soy sauce and sesame seeds.  We all shared some things we were thankful for!  I’m sorry we didn’t take a picture!  Maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

